The View through the Trees

October 25, 2007 at 8:42 am Leave a comment

Visiting friends gasp when they see that I live in an apartment surrounded by trees. It’s true; those trees are the view from all my windows. Which matters a lot because I work from home as an editor/writer, and when the right word escapes me, or I simply forget that it’s “acknowledgment” but “knowledgeable,” it’s nice to look toward something less fickle.

With two kids and piles of work, I don’t have much time to blog. So why bother? Because a place like Forest Hills can use another perspective, and especially because I’ve lived here for 20 years. To put it in context, I’ve been here since pre-Barnes & Noble days. In fact, I remember when there was a Walden Books where there is now an HSBC bank! I remember this neighborhood before droves of Bukharians and priced-out Manhattanites moved in. I think all of the changes have made Forest Hills a nicer place to be, and whereas once I dreamed daily of getting out of here, now I can’t imagine living anywhere else.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills.

Relative Bliss

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

