Hot for Takeout

November 14, 2007 at 8:51 pm Leave a comment

I’m solo parenting this week—my-guy is off in Europe teaching a course—which is easier in some ways, harder in others. One less person to interact and deal with, but also one less person to run to the market, occupy the kids, and put them to sleep at night. (Plus I miss him.) Needless to say, my takeout menus are getting a nice workout.

My personal phone faves in Forest Hills:
-Narita’s sashimi (freshest Mon. and Thurs. nights) for me and the fried rice and soba noodles for the kids
-A&J pizza (easy on the cheese please)
-Dragon King Chinese on 108th

Still, after a while, the rotation gets to be a yawn, so I got intrepid the other night and dialed Pahal Zan Falafel & Mediterranean Grill, the small kosher Middle Eastern take-out joint on Continental just before the steps to the Long Island Rail Road’s Forest Hills Station. It’s the best of its kind this side of Flushing Meadow Park. I sometimes get cravings for their falafels, but this week I ordered in their chicken platter, which included two grilled chicken breasts, a large Styrofoam snap tray filled with 5-6 Israeli salads, a small container of techina, and a few pita breads. It was enough for dinner for me and the kids (I supplemented with pasta for them) and lunch for me the next day.

Pahal Zan doesn’t have a Web site, but the phone number is 718-793-7177.

Highly recommended.

Entry filed under: food, Forest Hills.

Novo 64 and Beyond? Come Together

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

