And Pissed

November 18, 2007 at 10:20 pm Leave a comment

A friend of mine told me I must have had bad karma on Saturday. Apparently I still had some left for Sunday. I woke up with a headache, which I couldn’t shake for much of the day. My son was glad for the free pass on his DS and the computer, but my daughter, terribly two, was insistent on my being her sistah all day long. By 4 p.m. I was practically catatonic so I took her to Barnes & Noble to get me some caffeine and to read some books with her. Bad idea.

Sunday at B&N on a cold day in Forest Hills: the only difference between it and a spring day in the playground is that there is more parental supervision in the playground. There were kids running around and a 90 dB level from books that make irritating noises when pushed and parents’ cell phones that sound off with equally irritating tones. To top it all off, just as I finished reading And to Think That I Saw It on Mulberry Street to my daughter, who sat on my lap and followed along with such enthusiam and love in her eyes, I felt the leg of my pants become wet and hot. And to think that I thought this would be a good way to get through the day. I changed her clothes and used the hyper-powered dryer in the ladies room on myself.

The only thing that saved it for me was meeting up with my-guy and son at Rouge afterward for dinner. I know people joke about it being faux/ersatz/Epcot French, but when it comes to the calm civility of a bistro, Rouge is exceptional around here for getting it right. I’m especially partial to their frisee salad with a glass of Cotes du Rhone, and on those days when I’ve hit the wall of parenting and need a quick escape, you might find me in Rouge’s bar area with both of these in front me, along with a book.

And just so we’re all clear on this karma thing, here’s a definition:

In Buddhist teaching, the law of karma, says only this: “For every event that occurs, there will follow another event whose existence was caused by the first, and this second event will be pleasant or unpleasant according as its cause was skillful or unskillful.” A skillful event is one that is not accompanied by craving, resistance or delusions; an unskillful event is one that is accompanied by any one of those things. (Events are not skillful in themselves, but are so called only in virtue of the mental events that occur with them.)

Therefore, the law of Karma teaches that responsibility for unskillful actions is born by the person who commits them.

Whatever.

Entry filed under: food, for small kids, Forest Hills, parenting.

Tired and Pooped A Few of My Favorite Blogs

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

