Do Gooding: Blood Drive

January 4, 2008 at 11:39 am 2 comments

home_indicator_low.gifIf you want to do good in a surefire way, show up at any local blood drives. The importance of your donation cannot be exaggerated, and really, it’s just not a big deal to do it. My 7-year-old son will come with me this time to watch because he is very curious about what “donating blood” means and I want him to know that this is a way to help others in the most basic way.

Forest Hills Jewish Center

January 13

9:30-1:30

(718) 263-7000—I don’t think appointments are needed, but call just in case (I heard about this from the New York Blood Center)

The Modern Forager blog outlines some of the health benefits to you for giving blood (these are in addition to the American Red Cross’s feel-good reasons). I’d like to add one more: the last time I gave blood (end October), I received a letter a few weeks later that thanked me for the donation and, much more appreciated, included my cholesterol level.

Entry filed under: community, Do Gooding, Forest Hills, health.

Subways and Such Another Forest Hills Author Appearance

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  January 4, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Thank you for posting this information. I was unaware of the particulars of this drive, which is centrally located and convenient. While some people cannot donate for medical or health reasons, most can donate and excuse my being preachy, should. It is the gift of life, and when you or a loved one need it you certainly want to make sure it is available. Perhaps I’ll see you there!

    Reply
  • 2. karbeth  |  January 4, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    No preachiness taken! Just nodding my head in vigorous agreement.

    I just added FHJC’s phone number and that you don’t necessarily need an appt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

