& Garfunkel

January 22, 2008 at 10:14 am 1 comment

I can’t believe Art Garfunkel is 66. Since his voice has accompanied me through much of my life, I guess what I’m really saying is I can’t believe how old I am! But I’m happy to report that the native of Forest Hills is still singing and recording, his latest album, Some Enchanted Evening, out a year ago. And that not only is his voice as lovely as ever, but so are his recent reflections on his voice.

“Nothing could be more intimate. It is my first friend, my singing voice. I noticed that I could sing in tune at 4 or 5, and it became my friend. And it was attached to my notion of God. Where did this come from? Given by who?” He decided “there must be a larger force, and I have been—I don’t want to say the word chosen—but if this isn’t a sweet gift, I don’t know what it is. I felt incumbent at age 4 or 5 to use it, to enjoy it, to steal away in private and develop it.”

He grew up in a Queens, N.Y., family of “modestly serious Jews, and from the Jewish background, I got to love those minor-key songs. I got to love the big wooden room, the synagogue room, where the reverberation is lovely. Because it’s wood and it’s got a high ceiling. Privacy and reverb are a winning combination.”

Wow. I can just imagine his mind and voice spinning fantastic harmonies to age-old and, in some cases, worn-out liturgical tunes.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills, local notable, music.

Growing Up Online Preserving Our Neighborhood

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Anna Maria  |  April 15, 2008 at 2:48 pm

    Support Art Garfunkel
    Dear citizens of Forest Hills
    Thank you for hospitality in your blog.
    My presence is a strange: I was born in Italy in 1942 and live in Sicily, in Catania, a city at the foot of Mt.Etna. Last August are retired. Having much free time I started to listen to YouTube songs of my youth.
    I must confess that I did not know who he was Art Garfunkel (Simon & Garfunkel).
    I not speaking English (to writing using the machine translation) and in Italy to my times were top Domenico Modugno, Mina, Claudio Baglioni (and even The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Frank Sinatra, etc..). Looking at YouTube I found a cover of Sound of silence sung by Claudio Baglioni (the words of the Italian translation are far-flung from the wonderful original poem). Knew the music, and so I heard Saund of silence performed by S & G… .. I was fascinated and I started to hear all the songs S & G and also Art Garfunkel solo.
    I love this music and using Google, I discovered the personal story of these two boys grew up in the Queen, their interminable love-hate relationship , which still continues to keep the fans in anxiety.
    Imagine my frustration when I discovered that they held their last reunion tour concert in Rome, July 31, 2004.
    There were 600,000 people, but I was not present, not even knew that existed.
    After the meeting Old Friend The two were again separated.
    Art Garfunkel is back to its repertoire of songs and sweet raffinate. Some critics had worried that the lush, fervid music of his first few albums was a little syrupy and one-dimensional but its fans are lovers of his voice and fascinated by its history .
    But then time seemed to stop. Mr. Simon’s career took off in sometimes exotic new directions, as he, teamed up with African and Brazilian musicians.
    Paul Simon in month-long residency at BAM, collaborates with a range of artists to offer three musical constellations from his career For AMERICAN TUNES are planned featuring performances by Olu Dara, Grizzly Bear, The Roches. Why notArt Garfunkel ?
    I was devastated; this duo articulated incredibly meaningful songs that seemed to represent my own inner thoughts, and growth pains and my hopes.
    And unfair that Mr. Simon decides to try a different sound for those songs, always present in the mind, in the ears and hearts of many people.
    I sent an e-mail protest to BAM, which I kindly replied explaining that it was a choice of Mr Simon. Subsequently was inserted in the film The programming graduate (12 April 2008). Art Garfunkel sings April blithely as she will, Mrs. Robinson, Scarbourg faire, Sound of silence, timeless songs that gave us his precious voice.
    Dear citizens of Forest Hills, if you want to enjoy again at the beautiful voice of Art give way! You may ask His songs to radio and its participation in TV programs…….. and many other things from which I can not do.
    Thanks to God and Forest Hill for giving this precious gift to the world.
    Good luck to all !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

