Gray Is the New Black

January 29, 2008 at 9:32 am 5 comments

sebelius-state-of-the-union-democrats-77582bd8-a0e4-40cf-be2b-2eac161f6226_tn.jpgKathleen Sebelius and this gray-is-sexy piece by Anne Kreamer, author of Going Gray, have me in a good mood. As I dried my salt-and-pepper hair this morning, I mused on what might be ten reasons not to dye your hair.

  1. Save time.
  2. Save money.
  3. Put a few hair salons on Austin Street out of business. (The same might be said about manicures and nail salons.)
  4. No worries about whether the chemicals in the dye/treatment cause cancer.
  5. Better for the environment.
  6. Be a great role model for younger women, letting them know that they don’t have to buy into the misogynist and anti-aging messages that come daily through the media.
  7. Weed out the men who have something against women who look and act their age.
  8. Stop saying, “I look young for my age,” which is less about hair color and more about staying fit and being happy with who you are inside.
  9. Do away with the anxiety of when your roots are going to give you away.
  10. Get comfortable with the inevitable, and therefore yourself.

There you have it: Ten reasons to keep it real in Forest Hills (and everywhere else!).

Entry filed under: Forest Hills, health, Rant.

“Spirit of Communication” The Greening of Queens

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goinggray  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Amen! Love it! Please visit the blog Going Gray! We would love for you to share your thoughts.

    http://www.goinggray.wordpress.com

    Reply
  • 2. karbeth  |  January 29, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Going Gray is a terrific blog, soon to start a book club with Anne Kreamer’s book as its first read. It’s ideas/blogs/books/ideas like these that make me want to blog.

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:14 am

    I remember being a little kid and going with my mom to her weekly hair appointmnet. A woman walked in with her hair in a bun. I guess she was getting a trim or something. But her hair was gray and she undid the bun and her hair went down her waist. I was in shock. I didn’t think gray hair was “allowed” to get so long. I vowed then and there to have long gray hair just so I could shock another little kid.

    Reply
  • 4. Anne  |  January 29, 2008 at 10:34 am

    I’ll add another reason . . . most lighting (particularly sunshine) usually betrays color jobs, whether professionally done or at home. I’m all for good grooming and as my mother used to say, “A little powder and paint can make you look like what you ain’t,” but I don’t think there’s anything attractive about obvious efforts to look much younger than you are.

    Reply
  • 5. Jane  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:58 am

    you go, graygirl!
    Set yourself free. You can always go back.

    http://graygirls.com/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

