Sex, Food, and God

February 15, 2008 at 12:17 am 3 comments

city.jpg

The trifecta of life has come to a local theater near us.

For months I’d walk by the Midway and see a sign for “Forest Hills Community Church.” No name, no phone number, no Web site. A real mystery. But no more. FHCC, as its acronym goes, has a Web site and pastor blog.

ABOUT US

Pastor Jeremy is an ordained minister with the Assemblies of God. He and his wife, Christine, are in love with Jesus, and as a result, they love people. There could be no better place for them to minister than in America’s biggest and best city: New York City.

This weekend and next, FHCC is having a special program to address people’s questions about love and sex. I haven’t a clue what that means (I recently read The Abstinence Teacher, and am having trouble separating this from what Tom Perrotta depicts), but there’s an entry on Pastor Jeremy’s blog that announces the program and encourages people to post their questions in advance. Pastor Jeremy says, “No question is ‘off limits,’ so fire away!”

The little stand-up sign outside of the Midway says there will be free food from Martha’s, which I guess might pull a few people in, as if the prospect of an evangelical Christian sex-themed Q&A following Sunday morning services in Forest Hills weren’t enough.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills.

Where-er-er-er-er Is Love? A Closer Look

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anne  |  February 15, 2008 at 10:47 am

    What ever happened to sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll? To me the curiosity is two-fold – who participates in this “ministry” and are they doing so just to linger and catch the early showing for free? This would be understandable, given the steep ticket prices these days. Ok, now without the sarcasm. I assume the Midway rents the space to them as I recall that they have promoted the theater in the past as an auditorium to generate revenue during down times, and that there is no agenda other than an economic one. But, let’s keep an eye on the marquee, anyway. I have wondered about this “church” for a long time, half daring myself to check out the goings-on in person, but there is a creep factor that has left me at the curb by the sandwich board sign. Maybe it’s that I like my church with steeples, my pastor with a last name and a ministry that is more spiritual than sideshow. But a strawberry frosted cupcake might tempt me. Of course, I can’t tell if that is the angel on my left shoulder or the devil on my right influencing me. If I cross the threshold, I’ll report back.

    Reply
  • 2. karbeth  |  February 15, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Please do. I’ve got similar impulses on this one!

    Reply
  • 3. Mara  |  February 15, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Lots of new church do this sort of thing (rent a space) when they can’t afford a new building so that in and of itself is not unusual.

    The sex and evangelical stuff evidently is hitting its stride. I’m on a listserv where an academic is researching this. She was looking about information on “Date Night with Jesus.” I’m still not sure what that is, but I think it has more to do with abstinence (and lonely women) than sex.

    Hey, if Rabbi Shmuley can write “Kosher Sex” all power to Pastor Jeremy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

