Bonfire Grilled

March 26, 2008 at 4:07 pm 11 comments

Dave S. of A Forest Hills Life weighed in with a semi-scathing review of the Bonfire Grill, and there have been some similarly phrased posts on the Queens Central Forums. While I’ve held back on making any comments now that Bonfire is open, I agree that the magic for me thus far ends with the facade—I love the exposed brick around the front door. But I’ve peeked in, looked at the menu, and haven’t been sure what to make of it. I expected/hoped for more, and maybe that will come. The owners are putting a lot into this, and their goal is not for it to fail. So we may be seeing opening-weeks jitters for now and some market-response corrections later.

And since the owners are paying attention to what is being said on the blogs, I would only like to add that a sports bar with an impressively long list of beers is going to have limited appeal to the residents of Forest Hills. The real thirst here is for high-quality food and service.

Am I off the mark on this one?

Entry filed under: Austin Street, food, Forest Hills, Restaurant.

NY1’s Inside City Hall Host to Appear Eating for Myself

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  March 26, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    Your off the mark!

    Reply
  • 2. Ed Q  |  March 27, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Why does a “Forest Hills Life” consist mostly of comments and/or reviews of Manhattan restaurants? I get we all go into the city every now and again but we can find reviews and comments about Manhattan places everywhere. Waste of a good name

    Reply
  • 3. karbeth  |  March 27, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    I did a quick check and think it’s mostly Forest Hills-related. Maybe Dave wanted to blog more but wasn’t find enough to catch his attention. It is a good name!

    Reply
  • 4. DaveS  |  March 27, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I did intend to blog more about Forest Hills. I was caught up in the excitement of queenscentral and forest hills 72. Later I realized that I don’t have much to say about our hood. Unfortunately, most of the time my wife and I spend there is in our Apartment. If I have stuff to say about Forest Hills, it will be there. Anyway, its just a blog. It is what it is.

    Reply
  • 5. karbeth  |  March 27, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Dave–I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for showing up.

    Reply
  • 6. Kimberly  |  April 2, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    I stopped by Bonfire Grill with my husband two weeks ago when they had just opened and they had a sample menu. We tried the Nachos and the Chicken Quesadilla. Both dishes were great, very fresh and well seasoned. We also tried the egg rolls another night which were amazing. On Sunday we stopped by for brunch and we were in heaven. The food at Bonfire Grill has always been great. There complete menu is now available and we can’t wait to taste more of their dishes!

    Reply
  • 7. Lorraine  |  April 3, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    I cant believe all of these negative comments about the food at the Bonfire Grill!!!!! I thought the food was very good ….maybe Dave let his fries sit too long and they got soggy that way … my fries were perfectly crisp, not a soggy one on the plate! Does anyone in their right mind think a chef with the experience such as the noted chef at the grill would use anythig other than fresh avocado?? Or serve soggy , greasy fries??… I think not…. I have eaten at other restaurants where this chef has worked (one of the resons I came in to eat ) and i can assure you the avocados were not old!!! (another complaint mentioned ) Maybe people should give the place a chance and instead of “blogging” your “bad” food send it back…Im sure the chef would be gald to make each and everyone of you happy 🙂 I know thats what I have always done…give the new guy a chance…

    Reply
  • 8. karbeth  |  April 3, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Actually, the comments here have not been terribly negative at all. Honestly (and why would I make this up?), the guacamole was rancid-tasting and the fries were limp. But that doesn’t mean it can’t and won’t improve. The overwhelming opinion seems to be “The food needs some work; we really hope it gets there because we want this place to work out.” So I think the majority opinion on Splitting Hairs and elsewhere is neutral to positive at this wait-and-see time. (There’s another post on this, later, called “Eating for Myself.”

    And I will take your advice and next time send something I don’t like back. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 9. ashley  |  April 12, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    You Know……Maybe the guys at bonfire shouldnt have bothered putting such a nice rest on austin st…..
    These negative people would appear to be more satisfied if someone added a new bank, or mobile phone store at 72-27…
    Rancid food? ….plain food? please, pure nonsense!!!!!….you probably never even ate there
    have any one of you naysayers ever met the Owner/GM…
    He is there 24/7 built the place and makes sure all the guests are enjoying themselves

    Reply
  • 10. karbeth  |  April 13, 2008 at 6:43 am

    Hey Ashely,

    I’ve met the owner and he’s a very cool guy, really a hard worker. To his credit, he and his partner have been reading the blogs and tweaking things toward improvement as a result. I give them credit for being so pragmatic and responsive. I have been there several times since their opening and have seen it only get better and better. (There’s one post on this blog called Eating for Myself). We went just this week again and I loved it–the food, the crowd, the whole scene. I think it’s a winner, and judging by the number of people there, so do many residents of Forest Hills.

    Reply
  • 11. online stock trading advice  |  January 11, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    I’m Out! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

