A Book with a View

May 9, 2008 at 9:53 pm 1 comment

Today was definitely a lucky day. Not just because of the necklace I found and bought at Stoa, though that was certainly a fabulous moment; rather, while I was there, I stumbled on a great neighborhood find.

Where to start. I noticed an attractive looking paperback on one of Stoa’s counters and promptly went over to look at it. Title: Forest Hills: God Is in the Details. I’ve long worked in the publishing industry, and cut my teeth on lavishly produced coffee table books a la Rizzoli quality, so I’m drawn to books that look a certain way. Inside this landscape-trim paperback with thick glossy pages were beautiful photographs of Forest Hills, and not just the Gardens, through certainly there were a good number of those. There were, too, images of stores, corners, sunsets, doors, signs, angles. As I slowly thumbed through the book, I caught a different view of our neighborhood, one that zeros in on things we notice but don’t necessarily consciously register as being special, beautiful.

As soon as I got home, I called the author, Frank Koester. Turns out that he is something of a visual maven: photography (a hobby), architecture (his bread and butter), and design. In fact, regarding design, a condo he worked on in Olympic Towers, right next to Rockefeller Center, is going to be mentioned (included with these photos below) in New York magazine next week.

Ha! Our own design rock star. But back to the book, which is all about us. Forest Hills: God Is in the Details casts a loving, artistic eye on, yes, the details, which are what make any place unique, and certainly this is the case in our neighborhood. It’s not cheap: Koester printed only 10 copies (on-demand printing) and it’s in full color, so there are no economies of scale to speak of. But if you’re up for a once-in-a-Forest-Hills-lifetime experience, you’ll see it as a worthwhile splurge. Kind of like how I felt about the necklace at Stoa.

For more information on buying the book for yourself or as a gift (a fund-raiser prize immediateley came to my mind), contact Frank at fkpm@mac.com.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills.

In the Gutter Queens’ Poet Laureate

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kk  |  May 21, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I had the same experience. Spur of the moment, bought a lovely necklace at Stoa, book caught my eye. I flipped open to a random page and alas found my own front door!
    Have a copy in hardback and it’s a delightful book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

