To Explain…

September 10, 2008 at 8:32 pm 5 comments

Well, I don’t really have one good-big explanation for drying up like a late-summer flower. More like lots of small ones–computer busted; had a house full of kids, some not my own; was exhausted from work; was tired of being chained to the computer, and with the blog, concerned about how compulsive you have to be about staying on top of things; and so forth.

And the longer it went on, the easier it became not to look at the blog, though I often thought about it and how much fun I have had doing it. I must say, it has been a nice break. I wish I could say, “I’m baaack!” but I’m still working through in my mind how back I can and want to be. My daughter is now in nursery school most mornings of the week, so both of my kids are out of nest, at least for a few hours every day. And yet, I’m busier than ever, probably because I’m helping green and tech my son’s school, editing several books for work, and starting to take classes in botany, a long-held interest that I put on hold once I got preggers with #2.

Life went on, with much of my day still spent in Forest Hills. I took long walks, actually achieving a bit of success at losing some-5 pounds that gnaw at my self-esteem like maggots. I got back on my bike and started taking some lovely rides around the area because this is the best weather to tour Forest Hills and much of Queens. Never mind that some jerk high schooler practically ran me over in his teenage-packed car on the GCP service road; the ride through Flushing Meadow, amid the excitement of the US open and the flowering weeds and reeds stays with me, while the gash on my foot continues to heal. I’ve eaten at Dees a lot because it’s so damned kid-friendly (and I have to say, Dee makes one heck of a delicious hamburger) and once we took over the outdoor seating at the Theater Cafe, where the food is so-so but the desserts are oh-so. I saw ELEGY at the Kew Gardens theatre and thought it was great, even if it wasn’t as nasty as Philip Roth’s original. I made several raids on Forest Hills’ library and read, among many other things, Humphrey Burton’s mega-bio on Leonard Bernstein, in preparation for the big shindig all over New York this fall. I’m lovin’ that library.

Looking at this summer/fall semi-inventory of activity, I see that even though I turned inward to a certain extent, my connection to my neighborhood and borough was ever in place. I’m hopelessly but happily rooted here after all is said and done (or not done).

Thanks for bearing with me.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills.

Bikes Racks, Any Day Now? Arts and Herbs in LIC

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joe  |  September 11, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    Good to hear that you are still around. Now about that burger. Was it a cheeseburger? 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. MM  |  September 11, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    Sounds like you’re having fun KarBeth! Good to hear from you.

    Reply
  • 3. David M. Quintana  |  September 11, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Nice to know that you’re alive and well – and that you and yours are happy and healthy…keep in touch…;)

    Reply
  • 4. FH 'R Us  |  September 13, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    I missed your updates! Glad to see this post.

    Reply
  • 5. karbeth  |  September 13, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Cheeseburger indeed! But with enough great ingredients so that it merits retaining its “se” mid-word.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

