The Choice Is Yours

May 17, 2010 at 10:05 am Leave a comment

It always is when you make a purchase, with the question being: Does this benefit me at a preventable cost to the environment? I include “preventable” because unfortunately, none of us can live impact-free. But in many instances, with just a little thought, we can make decisions to go lighter with our personal footprint. I think about this all the time–using my car less, avoiding plastic, composting, buying used/recycled clothing and goods, and generally trying to become more aware about the results that my actions have on the environment, other animals, and plants. My kids think I’m borderline ridiculous, but they are also inculcating this way of thinking as a value, which I believe will serve them and the world well when they get older.

Anyway, check out this on Trader Joe’s. I’m sure this is just the tip of a deep melting iceberg. I understand the appeal of TJ’s–the seemingly healthful food at lower prices–but food is one thing for which it does make sense to spend more. Yes, yes, I know, not a reality when talking about finite sources of money. But if you eat less, which we could all stand to do, and use less, there will likely be more money to invest in what you are putting into your body and how it affects the world around you.

Entry filed under: Forest Hills.

Clothing Drop Box At the Fringe

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

E-mail

splittinghairsinforesthills at earthlink dot net

